Skip to main content





Beginning July 1, 2019, the Professional Development Incentive system will be changing. Scroll down for details.

The Professional Development Incentive System is a voluntary statewide professional development program for early childhood educators in a child care setting.   The goal of this award is to increase the quality of child care by caregivers receiving ongoing education and training.

Caregivers who meet eligibility requirements and maintain a minimum of ten hours of approved Career Ladder training per year may receive a yearly financial incentive. Caregivers who achieve Level 4 with a Demonstrated Competency or higher will receive a substantial increase in incentive amount.

Eligibility Requirements:

To be eligible for participation in the Professional Development Incentive you must meet the following requirements:

  1. Currently and continuously employed for at least 12 months and 20 hours per week with one or more unrelated children ages 0-12 in an eligible program and be at least 18 years of age. An eligible program is defined as a Utah state licensed child care program that provides child care, in lieu of parental care, to support working parents. The child care program must be open full day (6+ hours), full week (5 days) and year round (12 months).
  2. Employment must be in one of the following positions:
    1. A licensed family child care provider who cares for at least one unrelated child.
    2. A licensed family group second caregiver.
    3. A licensed child care center teacher, caregiver, director, or owner.
  3. Must complete 10 hours of Career Ladder approved annual training, college credit, CEU, or professional activities. The same class can only be used once every three years.

Professional Development Incentive System at a Glance

Beginning July 1, 2019, professional development incentives will only be awarded to eligible participants at the successful completion of a Career Ladder level. Only one incentive may be awarded for each level.

Please note: participants who have previously earned an incentive at a specific level will not receive another incentive until the completion of a higher level. (For example, if a participant has previously earned a Level 8 and received an incentive for Level 8, they will not be eligible for another incentive until completion of a Level 9 or higher.) Participants at the highest level on the Career Ladder will not be eligible for further incentives.

The new professional development incentive system structure will be:

New System 

Providers may apply for a professional development incentive under the current structure until May 31, 2019.

Career Ladder Level

Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 Level 4
Level 5 Level 6 Level 7 Level 8 Level 9 Level 10
$95 $115 $135 $380 $475 $570 $665 $760 $855 $950

Number of Incentives

1st award 2nd award 3rd award 4th award 5th award 6th award 7th award 8th award 9th award 10 + awards
$150 $168 $215 $263 $380 $475 $570 $665 $760 $855

Career Ladder Level + Number of Professional Development Incentives =

$ Your Annual Professional Development Award $.

Money amounts are subject to change each year.